The Book Hipster

The ramblings of things that make me…um, well…me.

Quiz Show…

Hello, Hipsters!

A long time ago…

In a galaxy far away…

space

oh wait…I think I’ve seen this movie before! 😉

ticket

Not a movie. I’ve just been thinking…I know…pick your jaws up off the floor. I remember a long time ago, I wanted to do some “interesting facts” about myself and I never did them. Mostly cause I think I’m boring.

Then Danielle over at Consuming Worlds tagged me on her blog for the Leibster Award, for a fun question/answer time on my blog. Again, I think I’m too boring and never end up doing it.

Since then, I’ve been kind of wracking my brain trying to think of some fun things to do on my blog other than Book Reviews, Random 5, or Mid-Week Blues-Busters. Honestly, the only other thing is to talk about me and my life. No matter how boring I think it is…right?

 

So…

 

DRUM ROLL

 

Today, I’ve decided to copy/paste the questions that Danielle had offered up for me to answer…and then I’m gonna answer them! What a radical concept!

Apparently there are rules to this Leibster thing, but I’m kind of a “play it by ear” girl, so I probably will only do what suits me. Ha!

 

The “rules”:

*Answer the questions I leave for you.
*Link back to the person that nominated you (that’s me)
*Nominate bloggers that have less than 200 followers
*Provide nominees with 11 questions of your choice
*Inform your nominees
*Provide them with a link to your post with your questions.

See? Rules…be gone!

The “rules”:

 

 

 

 

Sit down, and get to know me a little bit better as I answer the questions put forth by my friend.

This one looks comfy. Use this one.

This one looks comfy. Use this one.

 

1) What is one thing that your readers don’t know about you?

 

That while my given name is “The Book Hipster” I am not, in fact, a true Hipster. 😉

A few years ago, I had met my first Independent Author on Twitter and had started reading his books. Then met more Independent Authors through him…and so on…until all I was reading at the time was Indie Books. And no, I’m not complaining in the least. Promise. I was reading good stuff! And was always happy to pass along a recommendation if I was asked. A comment had been made that I wasn’t “mainstream” enough in my reading for a persons likes. I admit, I’m a sensitive soul and it bothered me, to the point I had to vent to a friend about it. He gave me some sage words, that I can’t share here…sorry…but he did call me a Book Hipster. And it kind of stuck in my head. And when I started my blog, it was the perfect choice. So if you ever stumble upon my blog looking for advice on your skinny jeans or how to look cool while not showering, I am not your girl. (Just kidding about the showering thing, I’m sure Hipsters shower regularly and smell Hipsterific) For the record, I still love to read Indie books…as well as mainstream.
And I do own prescription (not fake!), black framed glasses…I love them!

 

Oddly enough, I had a hard time finding a pic with me wearing them. I usually wear my contacts. Ha!

Oddly enough, I had a hard time finding a pic with me wearing them. I usually wear my contacts. Ha!

 

 

2) If you could live in any book, what would it be and why?

 

I’ve looked back at a lot of the books I’ve read and I think out of all of them I’d have to choose THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE by Audrey Niffenegger. There is just something about the thought that no matter what happens, these two people find each other over and over again and create a life together. Yes, it is horribly sad when you think about it, but all the good stuff in between is totally worth it, IMO.

 

3) Are you a dreamer or a realist? Why?

 

I’m totally a dreamer. Reality sucks way too much. So many things wrong with the world today, and it just makes me sad and depressed. Being a dreamer lets me live my life as close to happy as I possibly can. Yes, I know all these bad things happen in the world, but I need a way to escape it all. Otherwise, I don’t know if I could handle it.

 

4) What is your idea of the perfect day?

 

Um…well…this is a hard one to answer…I’m not exactly sure. I have different variations of what could be the perfect day.

 

One would be me sitting out on a beach…sun shining, breeze blowing…so I’m not terribly hot. Working on my tan. Book in my hand. No Kidlet shouting “Mom, look over here! Mom! Mom!” (ha ha ha!)

 

Another would be me spending the day with my family doing something fun…like bowling or putt-putt…having a good time. No tantrums. No arguing. Just enjoying the time together.

 

I know those are kind of basic, but I can be simple…sometimes. 😉

 

5) Name your favorite book boyfriend? And tell me why he is your favorite. Make me want to discover him. (that sounds dirty, doesn’t it? Er, you know what I mean)

 

I’ve read some pretty amazing books the last few years…with amazing book boyfriends! All boyfriend material for way different reasons. But when I think about it, the one that still makes me weak in the knees is James Alexander Malcolm MacKenzie Fraser, also known as Jamie Fraser. I read the first seven books in the series (OUTLANDER is Book 1) back in 2010 and I’m still not over him. The romantic side, the fierce warrior, the descriptive visual (if you know what I mean *eyebrow waggle*)…the accent (Scottish!). Every word you read just pours into your mind and soul…and you want to know Jamie Fraser!

 

Just this last year, every OUTLANDER fan’s dream has become a reality…Starz has put it out as a series…and wow! Just…WOW! I’ll leave you with this and let you decide…he he he…

 

mmmmmmmmmm...want to run my hands through that hair! *giggle*

mmmmmmmmmm…want to run my hands through that hair! *giggle*

 

6) If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?

 

This will probably sounds super cheesy, but I would love to be a Stay At Home Mom. Okay, maybe work part time…need some adult interaction. 😉 Seriously, though…if I could get paid to read and write and blog and take care of my daughter…all at home, I would do it! I’ve been struggling within myself a lot lately about not being home all the time for my daughter. I know she misses me when I’m closing at work, or if I work all weekend. But finding that balance is hard and it means all the other “me” stuff gets pushed to the side so I can be with her when I am home. Yes, I still spend a lot of time of Facebook and Twitter…and watching TV, but we all need to mindless entertainment, right?

 

My beautiful Kidlet. Picture from this past June at a wedding. She caught part of the bouquet!)

My beautiful Kidlet. Picture from this past June at a wedding. She caught part of the bouquet!)

 

7) If I were to go to your house and look at your book shelf. What would I see on it? (which books, nick nacks, pictures…)

 

I have a very small bookshelf. I don’t own a lot of physical books. Had to sell the ones I used to have (pre-Book Hipster days) so we could have extra money to eat or something. I do own some special books…autographed copies from my friends. ORANGE KAREN…the book MY short story is published in! Some small photo albums…a book with my autographed celeb photos. I also have a plant on top. The plant is from a funeral (Mr. Book Hipster’s Grandmother). She passed away while we were engaged, so she never got to see us get married. She (yes, the plant is a she, okay? I call her Grandma so we remember how special she is) has traveled from Michigan to Illinois and almost died on us a few times when adjusting to a new place.

 

Let’s see…what else is there?

 

I have a couple candles that were gifts. A photo of Kidlet. And a Lego-ish set from Doctor Who! They were also a gift…one of the coolest!

 

See? Aren't they the COOLEST THING EVER? (Thank you JJF!!!)

See? Aren’t they the COOLEST THING EVER? (Thank you JJF!!!)

 

8) Do you snack while you read? If so, what is your snack of choice?

 

This is going to sound so weird, but I cannot eat and read at the same time. It is almost physically impossible for me to do. I have to see what I’m eating, so it would mean taking my eyes away from the words. And then I’d lose my place and be annoyed cause I’d end up reading the same sentences over and over again. (seriously, this happened to me once!).

That being said, if I do end up needing a snack while I read, I have to stick with items that are not easily smeared. No melty chocolate, cheesy puffs, or greasy chips. Pretzels or Gummies are good ways to go!

 

9) Would you rather watch sports or play sports?
Watch. Except, I really don’t watch a lot of sports either. Ha! I will watch the occasional sport game if others are watching and I can have a running commentary going with them. Then, it is fun. Going to a LIVE game, though…that is always fun! Even if we lose.

 

10) If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go and with whom?

 

I think I’d like to go to Paris. Specifically to Pont de l’Archevêché (Archbishop’s Bridge). A few years back, Craig Ferguson did a week’s worth of shows in Paris, and this was one spot he visited. Since then, I’ve loved the idea of going there and adding a padlock.

 

I think it is a lot fuller now, but it is so cool looking!

I think it is a lot fuller now, but it is so cool looking!

 

11) Your favorite show to binge watch?

 

I have more than one…Doctor Who, Supernatural, Friends, Sherlock, Project Runway, MasterChef…and a new one Big Bang Theory! (plus, I’m sure there are more I can’t remember right now…sad…sad…)

 

Yeah...he he he

Yeah…he he he

 

So, there you go, Hipsters! I answered the questions…these were hard, but kind of fun to think of how I’d really answer them. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

STREET TEAM

steven's lunatics

steven's lunatics

WINNER!

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

