The Book Hipster

The ramblings of things that make me…um, well…me.

Ghosts of Halloween Past…

It’s almost Halloween and you know what that means…

 

Don't eat the candy if it is sitting in a real jack o'lantern, kids. Gross!

Don’t eat the candy if it is sitting in a real jack o’ lantern, kids. Gross!

 

Yes, yes…Candy. That isn’t what I was going to say. I was leaning more toward COSTUMES!

 

Look at them...scary...and cute!

Look at them…scary…and cute!

 

The one time of year, we deem it acceptable to let our children walk house to house, door to door, dressed in whatever movie/tv/comic/book character costume their little hearts want in search of the aforementioned…uh…candy. Even the parents (and non parents…don’t think I’m trying to discriminate against you) sometimes dress up for Halloween.

 

I bet that if I were to ask you right now, you’d be able to tell me what your favorite Halloween costume was as a kid. Think about it…you’ll be quizzed on this later. 😉

 

Aside from Halloween dress up, cosplay has become a huge thing in the con community. The last three years, I’ve gone to C2E2 (Chicago Comic and Entertainment Expo) and a great number of people come dressed in costume. People are so creative and have fun doing it. I think it is fantastic!

 

Random dude at C2E2 that let me take his picture cause he was an awesome Ghostbuster!

Random dude at C2E2 that let me take his picture cause he was an awesome Ghostbuster!

 

Obviously C2E2 isn’t the only convention where Cosplay happens…not by a long shot. There is your local Wizard World…San Diego Comic Con…just to name a couple…plus, some individualized shows have their own Conventions where Cosplay takes place.

 

Last October (so, 2013) my friend and I went to a Supernatural Convention (ChiCon) and they ran contests for different groups of costumes. One of just Castiel alone…

 

There are 10 people in this picture...this is only a small portion of the group!

There are 10 people in this picture…this is only a small portion of the group!

 

Surprise guest judge...Castiel himself! (Misha Collins)

Surprise guest judge…Castiel himself! (Misha Collins)

 

And just so you know, I’m super lame and have never gone in costume to any cons…yet. I’d love to, but never get around to thinking something up. This is about as creative as I have been so far…

 

My friend (also a Stephanie) and I at ChiCon. I made the shirt I'm wearing on CafePress. It says #CastielIsMyWingman.

My friend (also a Stephanie) and I at ChiCon. I made the shirt I’m wearing on CafePress. It says #CastielIsMyWingman.

 

Anyway, my point is costumes are not just for kids…I think…isn’t that my point?

 

Welcome to the world of Google and Pinterest where creating your own costumes

Welcome to the world of Google and Pinterest where Halloween is made fun!

 

Have you thought about your favorite kid’s costume yet? What about if you’ve dressed up as an adult…

 

I don’t like admitting this, but as an adult, before the Kidlet was born, I didn’t like the idea of dressing up for Halloween. I hated it. I had a job, though, in which I had to dress up for Halloween…I was a Leasing Agent (later Bookkeeper/Assistant Property Manager) at an apartment community and we threw a party for the kids every year in the office. *groan* The first year…I ended up being a “Mad Scientist” (crazy hair, lab coat, rubber gloves, and a tee with an alien on the front). No pictures, sorry. The second year, I was a black cat. No pictures, sorry.

 

The third year…I was myself…the bookkeeper…he he he…

 

Laugh it up...I still loved that costume. It was fun! You can't tell, but my pants were hiked up and I pinned the hem so they were up reaaaaallllly high. Ha!

Laugh it up…I still loved that costume. It was fun! You can’t tell, but my pants were hiked up and I pinned the hem so they were up reaaaaallllly high. Ha! And my name tag sad “Ms. Smarty Pants”.

 

Now that I have Kidlet around, it is fun trying to help her come up with ideas/costumes for her Trick or Treating every year. We’ve been very fortunate that her Grandma is awesome with a sewing machine and helps a lot. I know as Kidlet gets older and older (and less Kidlet-y), her costumes will get even better…they already have!

 

Thus the inspiration for my post…I was looking back at the costumes my baby girl has had over the last handful of years and wanted to write a post about it. 🙂

 

Two Years Old - Elmo (I think almost all kids worse this thing...right?)

Two Years Old – Elmo (I think almost all kids wore this thing…right?)

 

Three years old - Tiger

Three Years Old – Tiger (Fleece pants/sweatshirt, worn on cold nights)

 

Four Years Old - Snow White (this dress was worn all the time until it didn't fit any more. I may even have it stored away)

Four Years Old – Snow White (this dress was worn all the time until it didn’t fit any more. I may even have it stored away)

 

Five Years Old - The Witch (had to do a collage...the faces!!!)

Five Years Old – The Witch (had to do a collage…the faces!!!)

 

Six Years Old - Fairy Princess (she has wings...you just can't see them)

Six Years Old – Fairy Princess (she has wings…you just can’t see them)

 

Seven Years Old - Princess (she had asked for Sleeping Beauty, got Cinderella...oops! Still adorable!)

Seven Years Old – Princess (she had asked for Sleeping Beauty, got Cinderella…oops! Still adorable!)

 

Eight Years Old - Catwoman (this was all her...she got handcuffs, a cool necklace that she "stole" the belt...so fun!)

Eight Years Old – Catwoman (this was all her…she got handcuffs, a cool necklace that she “stole”, the belt, all with a black tee and pants…so fun!)

 

and this year…

 

Nine Years Old - Robin (her fave!)

Nine Years Old – Robin (her fave!)

 

Isn’t that so awesome? I’m so excited how her Robin costume turned out! Grandma made the shirt and cape…we went from there! The Superhero attitude is all her!

 

so…now is YOUR turn!

 

I want to know about your favorite (and maybe not so favorite) costumes! Write it in the comments…if you have a picture, go to The Book Hipster Facebook Page and post it (or message it to me, and I’ll post it).

 

Ready…

Set…

GO!

Happy Halloween, Hipsters!

 

You know the drill...

You know the drill…

4 comments on “Ghosts of Halloween Past…

  1. jan
    October 29, 2014

    Adorable pictures! I love the bookkeeper outfit! My husband once dyed himself blue and went to a party as a smurf!

  2. ccantley78
    October 29, 2014

    I remember being Zorro one year… and another I was a Vordak from the Lone Wolf series of adventure books. Andrew (my son) gets the cool costumes: Iron Man, Thor, Captain America #jealous!

Leave a Reply

STREET TEAM

steven's lunatics

steven's lunatics

WINNER!

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

