The Book Hipster

The ramblings of things that make me…um, well…me.

The Random 5…Steven Montano Edition

Hey there, Hipsterinos!

 

Hope you are all enjoying your summer so far. The Book Hipster family has already had its vacation to the lovely, and mountainous state of Colorado! I’m gonna try and put a post together of that, if I can muster up the brain power. 😉

 

Today, though, I’m bringing you an author interview…as my stop on the “Vampire Down” blog tour!

 

You know it is an official Blog Tour when there is a banner involved. ;-)

You know it is an official Blog Tour when there is a banner involved. 😉

 

 

VAMPIRE DOWN is the 7th book in the BLOOD SKIES SERIES by Steven Montano and is out NOW!!!

 

Clicky links: AMAZON, BARNES & NOBLE, SMASHWORDS

 

Ta Da!

Ta Da!

 

Want to know a little bit about it? Sure you do!

 

VAMPIRE DOWN
Blood Skies, Book 7

Who ever knew the end would come so soon?

In this final volume of the BLOOD SKIES series, Eric Cross and Danica Black find themselves facing impossible odds in the desolate ruins of the world they once knew. Hunted by the mercenary forces of the newly formed East Claw Coalition and desperate to find the elusive White Mother, the two refugees will be pushed to the limits of their abilities and sanity as they struggle to survive.

Meanwhile, in the near future, the undead hunter called Reaver searches for the lost city of Bloodhollow, the place where humankind will make its final stand, while the undead of New Koth and the rebellious White Children make their push to end the reign of the Ebon Kingdoms once and for all.

As timelines collide and the spider weaves her web, the battle for the fate of the riven world will come to its violent conclusion in the depths of a forgotten city, where unlikely heroes will emerge and hidden evils will finally be revealed…

 

That sounds awesome! As I said, it is the 7th in the series…

 

Here’s a blurb from Book 1: BLOOD SKIES to give you an idea what started it all

 

BLOOD SKIES
Blood Skies, Book 1

Blurb~
In the time after The Black, human survivors of the Southern Claw Alliance clash with vampire legions of the Ebon Cities in a constant war for survival. Earth as we know it has been forever damaged by an arcane storm that fused our world with distant realms of madness and terror. Things that once existed only in our nightmares stalk the earth.

Now, humanity is threatened by one of its own.

Eric Cross, an enlisted warlock in the Southern Claw military, is part of an elite team of soldiers and mages in pursuit of a woman known as Red — a witch whose stolen knowledge threatens the future of the human race. The members of Viper Squad will traverse haunted forests and blighted tundra in their search for the traitor, a journey that ultimately leads them to the necropolis of Koth.

There, in that haven of renegade undead, Cross will discover the dark origins of magic, and the true meaning of sacrifice…

 

and the covers aren’t too shabby either. Just saying. 😉

 

Ooooooh...look at all those pretty covers!

Ooooooh…look at all those pretty covers!

 

I’ll be honest, while I do own some of them, I haven’t read them. *blush* I have, however, been Twitter friends with Steven for a couple years and he is pretty cool. And loves coffee, so that makes him doubley (yes, it is totally a word!) awesome! 🙂

 

A man after my own heart...mmmmmm...coffee...

A man after my own heart…mmmmmm…coffee…

 

While I’d love to sit and talk more, you want the good stuff…

 

If you’d like to learn MORE about Steven, you can find him on his Website , Twitter , Facebook and Goodreads. Check out all of his books (not only the BLOOD SKIES SERIES) on AMAZON and BARNES & NOBLE.

 

As an added bonus…there is a GIVEAWAY!!! Steven Montano is giving away a SIGNED paperback copy of any book in the BLOOD SKIES SERIES! Click THIS LINK and enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway!

 

and now…The Random 5…Steven Montano Edition!

 

_______________

 

1. All of your books seem to have a lot to do with vampires or blood or both. Are you trying to tell us something about your personal life?

 

Believe it or not, I live a relatively quiet existence, but I do tend to have a fairly dismal and dark imagination. Maybe that’s why (for the most part) my stories are laced with a little bit of hope. Unsurprisingly, I was a Goth all through college, and I still listen to Gothic/Industrial tunes in preference to all other musical genres. I think it’s fair to say I have an evil side that comes through in my books, even if I come across as Joe Normal in person. (I’m an accountant, for cryin’ out loud…we redefine “boring”.)

 

His name is Gor-Don...sheesh! Um...do you think Gor-Don is secretly an accountant, too?

His name is Gor-Don…sheesh! Um…do you think Gor-Don is secretly an accountant, too?

 

 

2. Coffee…sugar? cream? both? or straight black?

 

Lots of cream, lots of sweetener. The only time I take it straight black is when I’m eating bacon and beans with it. HIPSTER NOTE: I love me some coffee with creamer. My all time favorite has to be the International Delights York Peppermint Patty…sooooooo yummy!

 

I like bacon, I like coffee...bacon coffee...uh...nothankyouverymuch!

I like bacon, I like coffee…bacon coffee…uh…nothankyouverymuch!

 

 

3. What was the scariest book you’ve ever read? Why did you find it scary?

 

Probably “The Shining”, by Stephen King. Something about that book sucks you in and won’t let you go, and the dynamic of the family machine combusting from within kind of hits a soft spot for a married father of two. The Kubrick film version is also excellent, and just as creepy.

 

Yep...that's pretty scary looking! I've read the book...good!

Yep…that’s pretty scary looking! I’ve read the book…good!

 

4. We’ve been friends on Twitter for a while and I notice you are always trying to speed up the week by skipping my days off of work. Do you not like me to have a day off or something? 😉

 

Nothing personal. If I could create a vortex that allows all of us to have 2-day work weeks and 5-day weekends I’d happily activate it. =D

 

How about a TARDIS? I've got one of those...kind of...he he he...

How about a TARDIS? I’ve got one of those…kind of…he he he…

 

 

5. What is one thing that no one would guess about you? Make it good…

 

I cry during Disney movies. Yup. The guy who kills 80% of his characters, whose books include vampires and monsters and black magic and mass zombie plagues, also breaks down and cries during “Up” and freaking’ “Wall-E”. Kind of goes against that “dark” thing I discuss above, eh? ;D HIPSTER NOTE: I cry, too…shhhhh…I won’t tell anyone, if you don’t.

 

Awwwww...look at this face...he looks like a sensitive soul...

Awwwww…look at this face…he looks like a sensitive soul…

 

_______________

 

There you go! Steven Montano!

 

Make sure to check out all of Steven’s stuff…and him (not like that, goofball!) on Twitter! I’m know you’ll be glad you did!

 

Enjoy your day, Hipsters!

 

Ahhhhhh...

Ahhhhhh…

4 comments on “The Random 5…Steven Montano Edition

  1. Love it! I would have never guessed the answer to the last question! Totally floored me. Good thing I wasn’t drinking anything or I would have spit it on my screen when I first read it.

    Thanks for helping out Stephanie! Another great Random 5!!!

    • The Book Hipster
      July 4, 2014

      I know! I was surprised, too! He really did make it good, didn’t he? 😉

  2. Lol, this is great! It’s okay Steven, we all have our things. I don’t cry during the saddest of films, but put in Deathly Hallows Part 2 and it’s like I can’t stop.

    Great post Stephanie!

Leave a Reply

STREET TEAM

steven's lunatics

steven's lunatics

WINNER!

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

