The Book Hipster

The ramblings of things that make me…um, well…me.

A Camping We Will Go…

Good Day, Hipsters!

I’ve probably mentioned before that I’m originally from Michigan, right? *looks around* Yes? No? Oh…well, I’m originally from Michigan, as is the whole Book Hipster Family. This means we still have friends and family that still live up there in the Mitten.

See? Mitten? :-)

See? Mitten? ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway…

Some family up there includes The Book Hipster In-Laws, Grandma S and Papa (those are the names Kidlet uses for them), and now that Kidlet is old enough, we’ve sent her up there a couple times on her own to brave the world without Mom and Dad. This summer, she spent her week learning how to catch butterflies with a big net (she’s good!) and picking blueberries! She did other things too, but those are the main highlights. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Mmmmmmm...blueberries... *drool*

Mmmmmmm…blueberries… *drool*

So, when Kidlet gets her week in Michigan, Mr. Book Hipster and I take a weekend and go fetch her and bring her back to Illinois. This time we decided that we hadn’t done our summer family vacation…you know…time away from work…and…well…work…ha ha ha! Mr. Book Hipster had thought of some things he thought might be fun to do, but wasn’t 100% sold on them. He asked me if I had any ideas, and only one came to mind right away…based on a recommendation from a friend…Warren Dunes State Park! I told Mr. Book Hipster there was camping there and we had a tent that needed to be used, so why not…sand, water, sun, nature *shudder*…camping!

Look! They even let you keep this sahweeet map! :-)

Look! They even let you keep this sahweeet map! ๐Ÿ™‚

To give you an idea of how outdoorsy The Book Hipster family is, the last time we went camping was Summer 2010…yep…3 years ago! And it rained…and rained…and did I mention rain?

This was the "back yard" of our campsite during that last camping trip...yikes!

This was the “back yard” of our campsite during that last camping trip…yikes!

You know what, though? Kidlet LOVED it!

Photographic proof that she enjoyed camping...despite rain and sleeping on the ground in a tent. Look at the happy! She was so cute!

Photographic proof that she enjoyed camping…despite rain and sleeping on the ground in a tent. Look at the happy! She was so cute!

We left our new digs in Illinois and headed to Michigan on Saturday morning. Spent the remainder of Saturday, just hanging and getting our old grill ready, as well as going through all the inlaws old camping supplies.

Sunday morning, before we could go camping, we had to do one thing. Tell the Kidlet we were going camping! Now, if you all remember last year’s “We’re Going to Disney World video” she doesn’t take surprises too well. Or at least not when presented with something other than a toy first, so this year Momma was prepared!

I’m part of an online thing called BzzAgents where I get to try stuff out and tell other people about it. If you are interested… http://www.bzzagent.com …I’ve tried some fun stuff before. And kind of eh stuff, too. This however…I knew was going to be a hit!

The NERF Rebelle Heartbreaker Bow

I don’t normally condone violence, but it’s NERF violence, so I’m good…as long as she doesn’t shoot anything alive, right?

I didn’t get a video, but her just knowing we were going camping got her excited. This was the icing on the cake. The only stipulation was she couldn’t play with it until we got things set up at the camp site.

This is only the 2nd time this tent has been open. The first was in our dining room to see how big it was after we got it...we're fun like that.

This is only the 2nd time this tent has been open. The first was in our dining room to see how big it was after we got it…we’re fun like that.

Oh look...foldy chairs! And a patient Kidlet.

Oh look…foldy chairs! And a patient Kidlet.

Well, now that those things are taken care of…

Kidlet Everdeen

Kidlet Everdeen

I told her she couldn’t shoot it at Mommy or Daddy, even though it is NERF. So, she shot at the local wildlife…

JEEP are wild, right? Plus...the foot...look at the FOOT!!! Cracks me up!!!

JEEP are wild, right? Plus…the foot…look at the FOOT!!! Cracks me up!!!

I think she likes it, huh?

Day one (Sunday) consisted of us setting up camp. We pulled out our travel grill from “storage” at the in-laws and got a new propane tank. We were gonna do some real cooking this time around! Yeah…the grill wouldn’t work. So, we pulled out the sandwich supplies and had sandwiches and chips for dinner. Exciting, I know.

Mr. Book Hipster had picked us a pretty good camp spot, too. We had the bathrooms and showers within a short walk, so when the Kidlet complained about having to use the restroom, she had the freedom to do so without parental guidance. Woohoo for growing up! On one side of our camp site, there was no one…the other was a guy/girl couple that we rarely saw. We laughed cause he drove an AUDI…that was geezer beige! I didn’t realize they made AUDIs that color…ha! Anyway, they made a huge fire the first night, so we didn’t even bother. We sat enjoying their fire from a distance. Completely one with nature. And by nature, I mean, my cell phone was plugged in charging and I was using my tablet to read and Mr. Book Hipster was playing on a Nintendo 3DS…Kidlet was sleeping in the tent already.

The moon was fantastic! It was so bright! I wish I could have gotten a great picture of it, but unfortunately my cell phone doesn’t take super fancy up close pictures of the moon.

Here...pretend I took this, okay?

Here…pretend I took this, okay?

My one hope for this trip was to get to see some stars. Living in the Chicago suburbs, you don’t get to see stars too often. Well, except for that one time the Weasley Twins came to the movie theater for one of the Harry Potter movie releases…heh. I miss seeing them. The stars. Not the Weasley Twins. Sitting out under the stars is kind of relaxing. And romantic. Seriously. Who doesn’t want to belt out “Somewhere, Out There” every time they look up at stars at night? *looks around* Um…did I just say that out loud?

You know you are singing it...I am...poor little Fievel.

You know you are singing it…I am…poor little Fievel.

The moon was too bright that night, though. I could barely see the stars. I did see some, but not many. It made me sad. Sad like I can’t even explain. Weird. Yes. I know I am. What’s your point?

Headed into day 2, we had more of a plan.

Monday morning was here! I immediately checked this here blog to see if my Cover Reveal for Troy Aaron Ratliff had posted or not. I tried to schedule the post to go live Monday morning, but it didn’t work. Not surprising, I guess. So, I told Mr. Book Hipster we had to get it posted. I promised Mr. Ratliff. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Because we had to go outside the campground anyway to figure out breakfast, we found a local McDonald’s and “made” breakfast. Ha! While we ate, I used their wi-fi and Mr. Book Hipster’s laptop and published the blog post. Woohoo!

See?

Then, we headed back to camp. And then…swimming!

Isn't the water so pretty?!?!?

Isn’t the water so pretty?!?!?

Lake Michigan…from the Michigan side! Absolutely beautiful! And the weather was perfectly hot. The water…perfectly freezing! Whoa! I think I stood at the shoreline with just my feet in for the longest time. I’d slowly move forward…then a little more…then a little more. Now, Hipsters, I’m usually a “just dunk yourself under and you’ll feel fine” swimmer when it comes to cold water. This was so, so, so cold! Kidlet swam around a lot, while Mr. Book Hipster and I just stood there trying to not faint of shock. Finally, I was brave. I dunked myself in the cold water. Not smart. I just about cried it was so cold. That was about the time I decided, maybe I’d just go sit in the sun and work on my tan. Yep, that’s what I did…

No, that isn't really me tanning. At that point, I had left my camera (phone) in the car so I didn't drop it in the water or anything. Hipster needs her phone, so you can imagine how difficult it was to just leave it in the car. ;-)

No, that isn’t really me tanning. At that point, I had left my camera (phone) in the car so I didn’t drop it in the water or anything. Hipster needs her phone, so you can imagine how difficult it was to just leave it in the car. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Also, you may be asking yourself, “Book Hipster, I thought you said this was ‘Warren Dunes’, so where are the dunes?”. Well, there was lots of sand. As we pulled into the parking lot of the Lake, we saw one big one…and I immediately decided I was not going to go on any dunes. Ha!

Look how tall! Yeah...wasn't happening. Sorry, Charlie.

Look how tall! Yeah…wasn’t happening. Sorry, Charlie.

We spend quite a while at the beach, because even though I wasn’t swimming, I was enjoying the sun. And Kidlet was LOVING the water. She has really progressed in her swimming this summer. I’m still a paranoid Mom, but at least I trust her more than I did at the beginning of the summer. ๐Ÿ˜‰

We were all getting hungry for lunch, so we decided to head back to camp and do the one thing that is almost a requirement if you go camping…cook hot dogs over an open fire! This was the first time Kidlet was able to do it because of all the rain last time.

Mr. Book Hipster and Kidlet cooking hot dogs over the fire pit. Mr. Book Hipster is awesome at making a fire! He even gets Kidlet into it, by sending her to find twigs.

Mr. Book Hipster and Kidlet cooking hot dogs over the fire pit. Mr. Book Hipster is awesome at making a fire! He even gets Kidlet into it, by sending her to find twigs.

Because we were thinking of “camping” when we bought food stuffs, Mr. Book Hipster found one of the coolest things ever! Wanna know what it is? Do you? Really? Okay…

Yes, yes...that is SQUEEZE ketchup in a bag! And the best part...it was $1!

Yes, yes…that is SQUEEZE ketchup in a bag! And the best part…it was $1!

After we ate, we essentially just hung out. Kidlet and I played a handful of different card games. She played with her new bow. And I attempted to write a short story about the cool lake and mist far out where the horizon met the lake. My brain was too worn out, so nothing came of it. Boo. I still have hopes. I did read a little, too. Before we knew it, it was getting dark again…

Monday night, our camp neighbors didn’t make their own fire, so we actually made one ourselves. I feel like such a city girl when we do stuff like that. I don’t know why. I grew up in a farming/country-esque community where bonfires were a plenty. Still…I think it is cool to say we did it ourselves.

Yes, I took a picture of the fire. Isn't it cool looking? Can you feel how toasty warm it is?

Yes, I took a picture of the fire. Isn’t it cool looking? Can you feel how toasty warm it is?

No stars again Monday night. Too cloudy. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Tuesday morning came. We packed up all our stuff and headed back home to Illinois, which we found out is only about an hour and a half away! Mr. Book Hipster and I decided that maybe next summer we’ll do a random day trip to the Dunes and go to the beach. Not necessarily camping overnight, although that wasn’t ruled out either.

I’m happy he and Kidlet enjoyed our choice of family vacation to the Warren Dunes State Park.

I did too.

TENT

2 comments on “A Camping We Will Go…

  1. dSavannah
    September 5, 2013

    Sounds like loads o’ fun for the Hipster family. ๐Ÿ™‚ (especially the reading part. ha!)

    • The Book Hipster
      September 6, 2013

      It was fun! We just didn’t have a plan set in place when we went this time. Next time, we’ll try to plan better. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

STREET TEAM

steven's lunatics

steven's lunatics

WINNER!

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

