The Book Hipster

The ramblings of things that make me…um, well…me.

Run for Cover…

I’m trying something new this time, Hipsters, so I hope it worked okay. Guess we’ll find out. I’m actually writing this blog post on Friday night and scheduling it to post on Monday…is it Monday? *giggle*

If you are seeing this any other day but Monday, just pretend it is Monday...okay?

If you are seeing this any other day but Monday, just pretend it is Monday…okay?

Anyway, guess what? One of my favorite authors, Troy Aaron Ratliff, has a new book coming out in October and is letting me be one of the few to reveal the cover for DO I BOTHER YOU AT NIGHT? (If you are on Twitter, use the hashtag #DIBYAN)!

Self-Portrait...maybe someday I'll get to see the real Troy. *hint, hint*

Self-Portrait…maybe someday I’ll get to see the real Troy. *hint, hint*

Wanna know why I’m so excited? Troy has a special place in my heart…he was the person who gave me that final push to start my blog a little over a year ago! AND…he was the FIRST “Random 5…” interview I ever did on the blog! Wanna jog down memory lane? Click HERE. Go read…I’ll wait… *looks around and whistles Oscar Mayer wiener song*

You know you are singing it...

You know you are singing it…

Okay…done traveling down memory lane? Good! Feel free to do that…anytime!

Well, Troy has been working on this book for a looooooooooooooooooooooo (you get the point, right?) ooooooong time…and it is done! When he talks about it, I can feel the excitement in his typing! I couldn’t imagine hearing him actually talking, cause I don’t know what his voice sounds like, but I’m sure it would be super excited sounding, too!

Here’s where I’m gonna be honest with you. As of me typing this post, I haven’t actually read DO I BOTHER YOU AT NIGHT. I know. I’m a bad blogger. Troy gave me a copy of it quite a while ago as one of his Beta readers. Unfortunately, life gets in the way and things happen…the next thing you know you’re sitting on the wrong side of the Canadian border, drinking a Tim Horton’s coffee (cream/sugar), while munching on a small container of chocolate cake, glazed Timbits (no, that isn’t what you think…they are donut holes!) with the old ladies from the BINGO parlor.

*looks around*

Oh…so…um…that was just me? Alrighty!

See? Told you.

See? Told you.

So…I’m going to attempt to read DO I BOTHER YOU AT NIGHT while I’m away this weekend (remember, I’m writing this Friday night?). I’m actually really excited about it…if it is anything like Troy’s other work, I’m gonna LOVE it!

Wanna know more about DO I BOTHER YOU AT NIGHT? Read on:

They say nothing ever happens in Kansas.  Sylvester Petersen used to think so too.  That is, until a mysterious new neighbor moves in next door, seemingly out of nowhere.  His handful of friends – people who tried to help him cope with the sudden death of his wife – think that it might be an opportunity for him to get reacquainted with the world outside his farmhouse and to build a new relationship with his neighbor.  But that idea is soon snuffed out as strange events begin to happen around him.  None of them wrong.  Just strange: driving in the middle of the night, the sulfur-like odor coming off of him, the fact he doesn’t talk to anyone in the area.
 
And what about that dog?
 
Sylvester chooses the logical explanation and ignores the peculiar behavior.  But when other oddities start to happen – the kind that affects Sylvester directly – he begins to worry.  His reasoning dwindles and his growing fear points to his neighbor.
 
Where is that stray dog going?
 
After enough time, Sylvester starts to see and hear what the people of the area have been muttering about: Unexplainable blue light, corn crops moving on their own…the slaughtered cattle entirely too close to home.
 
And that stray dog that keeps getting fatter and fatter…
 
At the peak of summer, and with the walls closing in, Sylvester experiences something that will take him to the brink and haunt you forever.
 
Bathed in loss, terror, and human spirit, Do I Bother You at Night? will be a story you won’t forget and one that will keep you up at night.
 
Love thy neighbor.

Sounds good, right? I know! And I’ve been kicking myself for not reading it yet, even though I have it in my possession!

Well…you may have to wait until October to read the book yourself, but I can still show you the COVER! Ready? Make sure you have your glasses (or contacts) on…and you are sitting down…

Behold!

Yeah...don't know if I'm going to read this at night...I still remember Troy's other stuff creeping me out!

Yeah…don’t know if I’m going to read this at night…I still remember Troy’s other stuff creeping me out!

Whatcha think? Pretty creepy, right?

Mark your calendars…October! I’ll let you know as it gets closer!

Until then…goodnight… *evil laughter*

Leave a Reply

STREET TEAM

steven's lunatics

steven's lunatics

WINNER!

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

