The Book Hipster

The ramblings of things that make me…um, well…me.

C2E2…are you going?

IT'S A SIGN!

IT’S A SIGN!

Last year, I was made privy to a little event called C2E2 (Chicago Comic and Entertainment Expo). Yes, I consider myself geeky and someday hope to go to SDCC (San Diego Comic Con)…I didn’t realize, however, that there were all these other little Cons that go on all year round…including in my own back yard! I’m new to this stuff, okay? Don’t laugh! You…I see you laughing…knock it off! 😛

So, some Twitter friends were talking about how VAL KILMER was going to be at C2E2 and how cool it would be if they could meet him. They didn’t live close enough to Chicago, though, to go. I thought it would be kind of cool to meet him. I’ve been a huge fan since Mad Mardigan and Ice Man…

Mad Mardigan...so...so...well, nevermind...

Mad Mardigan…so…so…well, nevermind…

and…

Danger Zone!

Ice Man…in the Danger Zone!

I thought it would be cool, but C2E2 was just a couple days after me finding out about it and money is always tight, so I just dismissed the idea. The next day (Saturday) The Book Hipster family was at the local Denny’s having brunch and I mentioned off hand to Mr. Book Hipster that Val Kilmer was going to be less than an hour away from us and how awesome it would be to meet my Huckleberry…in PERSON! Guess what happened? Mr. Book Hipster pulled out his phone, looked at the website and said “Sure, let’s go!”. Turns out, Sunday is their “Kid’s Under this age FREE” day, so Kidlet would get in free and we’d only have to pay for the entrance ticket and the ticket for the autograph for Val. This is where I will throw in that these people have quite a gig going on…some celebs not only have you pay to get an autograph…they have you pay to get a picture taken with them, too! Money was tight, so I had to choose…picture with Val…or Autograph? Picture…autograph? I decided that it would be cooler to have a picture that was autographed that I could frame and maybe put in my Book Hipster Office (when I have one…ha!). Decision made! The Book Hipster family was going to C2E2!

*happy dance*

I won’t go into too many details, but it was so much fun!

As soon as we got there, we made a beeline for the Val Kilmer booth because I didn’t want to wait forever in line to get his autograph. Turns out, I was early…or he was running late…either way, I was the 10th person in line! Surrounded by a bunch of…well…older gentlemen. It was weird, but that’s okay, I didn’t care. Val showed up and then hearded us up to him one by one. When I got up to him, he said hello, shook my hand and said I was beautiful (or maybe called me beautiful…I don’t know…I was TOUCHING VAL KILMER’S HAND!) He signed my picture and that was it. Done. Over. I was as giddy as a Jr. High girl meeting Justin Beiber!

Wait...is he still popular?

Wait…is he still popular?

While in line for Val, though, his group was very, very picky about us having phones out. Camera phones…no pictures, remember? So, I have no actual picture of me with Val Kilmer…boo! I do, however have this…

Yes, a picture of my picture...ha ha ha! Maybe I'll scan it and fix this post later...sorry. Look, though...autograph of my Huckleberry!

Yes, a picture of my picture…ha ha ha! Maybe I’ll scan it and fix this post later…sorry. Look, though…autograph of my Huckleberry!

Another possible person of interest while at C2E2 was JOHN BARROWMAN. He was Captain Jack Harkness on DOCTOR WHO and TORCHWOOD. At the time, I was kind of “meh” about standing in line to meet him. After all, it would be another chunk of change to get his autograph too. A funny thing happened though, as I was standing in line to meet Val…I decided I wanted to meet John too! The people in his line were all my people…Doctor Who fans! And they were having fun! Decision made. I was going to meet John Barrowman, too!

Immediately after my high of meeting Val, I got into the Barrowman line. It was the longest line I’ve ever been in…and I’ve been to a couple amusement parks with long lines. But I got to stand in line with all sorts of fun people, wearing fun costumes and talk about fun things. We even talked about my Fake BBC Boyfriend (Benedict Cumberbatch)! As I got closer, I realized that Mr. Barrowman was doing something a little different than Val. He was letting people take pictures with him without charging. Just candid shots.

While waiting in line, I was able to meet up with a Twitter friend, ALAN! Alan is a person I met after starting to watch Doctor Who. He knows pretty much all there is to know about that show (Classic and Newer) as well as other geek stuff. He’s even done videos with Tim Gunn (TIM GUNN!!!) about super hero costumes and other things. I was excited and nervous to get to meet him. It was a quick encounter, but that is fine. I’m kind of shy meeting people in person.

A quick photo!

A quick photo!

After what seemed an eternity, I was almost there…in front of me was a mom with a little boy dressed as Captain Jack. He was adorable! And John loved it! He talked to the little boy about how awesome he looked and other fun things. He was the nicest guy ever!

I took this picture while he was talking to the little boy.

I took this picture while he was talking to the little boy.

Then…it was…my…turn…squeeee!!!

I told him the truth and that I was still really new to the Doctor Who world and hadn’t watched all the seasons of Torchwood yet, it was on my list of things to do. I told him about some of the fun videos I had watched on Youtube of him singing and a “Weakest Link” episode where it was all Doctor Who actors, including him. We were laughing so much and he said he hoped I continued to enjoy watching everything. He signed my picture of him and then…

Look! It's me! And John Barrowman! *faints*

Look! It’s me! And John Barrowman! *faints*

While I was waiting in the long line, Mr. Book Hipster and Kidlet were walking around and taking in all the other fun stuff. They took me to a couple really cool areas and then we decided to head back home.

A couple highlights, though:

I got to meet a Dalek!

That thing was HUGE!

That thing was HUGE!

And we got to see Mr. McFeely from Mr. Roger’s Neighberbood!

Special Delivery!

Special Delivery!

And Kidlet got to start her button/pin collection!

My little geekling! She had such a good time!

My little geekling! She had such a good time!

If you’ve made it this far, reward yourself with a piece of candy…I’ll wait… *whistles* *looks around*

If you get why this is funny, at this point of the post...reward yourself with a second piece of candy. ;-)

If you get why this is funny, at this point of the post…reward yourself with a second piece of candy. 😉

…ready? Okay…

This weekend is C2E2! And while I can’t go all three days like I would absolutely LOVE, we are going again on Sunday and I’m super excited! I’ll try to do a post next week with some pictures and maybe a fun story or two! The plan is to get to meet a few celebs and have a good time!

Are any of you going to C2E2 this weekend? If you are planning on being there on Sunday, let me know and we can meet up to say “hi”, maybe throw in an awkward hug (I’m shy, remember?), and of course, a picture with The Book Hipster that I’ll proudly show on the blog! 🙂 Also, if you have any really cool Con stories…I’d love to hear them in the comments below!

I’m out for now, Hipsters! Have a great day!

BANNER

4 comments on “C2E2…are you going?

  1. crystal
    April 25, 2013

    Shut up you are not shy! I will be there with my Tardis dress on walking with the Doctor.

    • The Book Hipster
      April 25, 2013

      I am too shy! 😛 Okay, I completely forgot to mention I met you last year! D’oh! This year we have to get a picture, though. And how awesome you two are dressing up! Can’t wait to see you! Me…I’ll be wearing normal clothes. I’ll wear my TARDIS pendant.

  2. Steph
    April 28, 2013

    I have a cool con story…in October, I’m going to a tiny little con, and I’m meeting Castiel!!!!

    Haha, all kidding aside, I’m glad you had fun last year and hope this year is just as awesome!

    • The Book Hipster
      April 28, 2013

      Tiny little con, huh? What a coincidence…I’m going to meet Castiel in October too! I wonder who I’m going with? Hahahaha! We are gonna have so much fun! I can’t wait…watch out Castiel…the Stephanies are gonna get ya!

Leave a Reply

STREET TEAM

steven's lunatics

steven's lunatics

WINNER!

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

