The Book Hipster

The ramblings of things that make me…um, well…me.

One of the coolest things I’ll ever get to say…

*looks around and steps up to the microphone*

So…

For those of you that either follow me on Twitter or hang out on my FB Page or just happen to be one of my friends on my personal FB account have probably noticed. I’ve started writing. For those of you that don’t…1) Go follow me on Twitter and FB, and B) I’ve started writing. 😉

What does that have to do with anything? A lot!

Before starting this blog, I didn’t do much of any writing. Scratch that. I didn’t do any writing. I wrote papers and speeches in college. I wrote my resume…and cover letter…heh. That was it. Then a strange thing happened…

The INDIE AUTHOR!!!

Independent

Normally, this wouldn’t be such a big thing, but to me it was the start of something awesome. It started on Twitter. Had one or two indie authors start following me on Twitter. I decided to follow them back. Then…I started responding to their tweets…and they started responding back!

If you’ve read any of the “Random 5…” author interviews on this blog, you’ll realize what happened next. One author introduced me to another, then that one to another…then THAT one to a whole group of others!!! It was a snowball of author introductions…and it was magnificent and magical!

Uh...not quite the "Magic" I meant. Ha! Does this team even exist anymore? Hmmm...

Uh…not quite the “Magic” I meant. Ha! Does this team even exist anymore? Hmmm…

From there, I was inspired by this group of people I now considered my friends, The Loungers…to write! Yes, I already had the blog by that point and was pretending to be a cool blogger, but to actually write-write…like actual writing!

It started because I found some old high school poems I had written in Mr. Brennan’s 11th Grade English class. I was pretty impressed with them. Back when I wrote them, I thought they were okay for what I needed, but reading them now, 16 years later, it was interesting to see that I had the potential back then and never did anything with it because I didn’t think I could do it. And I decided to let a couple of these new writer friends of mine read them. And guess what? They LOVED them! And told me I should write more of them!

So I did…

This is a picture of the second poem I wrote. Obviously not my final draft. Any of you steal this and I'll kick your butts! :-P Obviously, I was feeling kind of...um...sad...that day.

This is a picture of the second poem I wrote. Obviously not my final draft. I can’t believe I’m actually sharing it with you. Any of you steal this and I’ll kick your butts! 😛 Obviously, I was feeling kind of…um…sad…that day.

Well, as I thought of a few poem ideas, I would jot them down and go from there if I could. I had this brilliant (well, brilliant to me!) idea for a poem. The only problem is I couldn’t get it to sit the way I wanted. It was a very misbehaved poem! I did something really crazy with it…I turned it into a SHORT STORY!

Okay...maybe not THAT short!

Okay…maybe not THAT short!

At the time, I was really nervous about letting anyone read it. Of course, that is normal, right? Well, I had a handful of friends I would trust with this…and they all said they’d read it. Turns out only one of them really ended up reading it because only one said anything to me about it after I sent it…ha! That’s okay. I’ve said I’d do things for others and either forgot or got sidetracked…no biggie! The one that read it…he’s my Superman. Because not only did he read it…and love it…he told me to write more!

Are you still with me, Hipsters? I promise…the coolest thing I’ll ever get to say is still coming! Keep reading!!!

Here is something to nibble on while you read...keep going!

Here is something to nibble on while you read…keep going!

About this same time, a bunch of the writer friends I had were talking about this “Orange Karen” lady who had been gravely ill. So ill, that they almost lost her. I won’t go into detail here, but you can click HERE and find out her whole story…in her own words!

These amazing friends of Karen decided to put together an Anthology of short stories, poems, whatnot and publish it and all the proceeds would go toward her insane medical bills. What a fantastic idea! And the sign of true friends. They decided to open up submissions to anyone for this Anthology…their only requirement…it had to be themed with Orange! I decided I was going to write something for the Orange Karen Anthology…if it got accepted, awesome! If it didn’t, I tried something new and maybe I’d end up with another short story under my belt.

I wrote my story, LITTLE ORANGE DRESS…and the ever awesome writer/mentor/friend Luna edited it for me. And I sent it off…and waited…and waited…and…well, you get the idea. 😉

Then, I got the email…

*faints*

*faints*

Needless to say I was on Cloud 9 for a long time…and still am! Me. Published. Holy Crackers!

And being the social media junkie I am...FACEBOOK!

And being the social media junkie I am…FACEBOOK!

So there you have it…one of the coolest things I’ll ever get to say…I’m going to be a PUBLISHED AUTHOR!

And not only am I in it, there are 38 other awesome and amazing people (some their first publication, too!) being published in the Orange Karen Anthology. Click HERE to see the list! Other than a couple obvious names that should stand out to you automatically as my friends, one person is a special treat to have being published with. Christopher Cantley. I’ve known him since I was 18 when we worked at Tim Horton’s together. I am so excited that we will both be published for the first time, together, in this Anthology. He has an amazing story too, make sure you read it!

Now, here is why I’m telling you all this, well, other than it is the coolest thing EVER!

It was just released. Like now! Yes, NOW!!!

The Cover:

Orange Karen: Tribute to a Warrior - Cover by Kip Ayers

Orange Karen: Tribute to a Warrior – Cover by Kip Ayers

Where can you buy it, you ask?

Well…

AMAZON KINDLE (if you don’t have a Kindle, you can download a Kindle App for your phone, computer or tablet) <—you can get the paperback at this link too!

CREATESPACE PAPERBACK

Which story is mine? It is called LITTLE ORANGE DRESS and it is 3rd from the end. 🙂

Look!!! There it is all official looking!!!

Look!!! There it is all official looking!!!

There you have it, Hipsters! Now, go…buy ORANGE KAREN: TRIBUTE TO A WARRIOR (don’t forget…all proceeds go to Karen and her family to help assist with her medical costs) and read all that it has in store. And let me know what you think!

We love you, Karen! Keep getting stronger and more awesome every day! ❤

I'm a member of #TEAMORANGE...are you?

I’m a member of #TEAMORANGE…are you?

8 comments on “One of the coolest things I’ll ever get to say…

  1. Christopher Cantley
    April 12, 2013

    Yay us, Steph! And Great work to all the folks involved with the Anthology!

  2. dsavannah
    April 13, 2013

    I just adore how excited you are! (like I’m not! ha!)

    • The Book Hipster
      April 13, 2013

      I honestly don’t know if I’ve been this excited about anything else in my life (don’t tell Mr. Book Hipster I said that…shhhhhh)

  3. Sherry Allen
    April 13, 2013

    it’s so exciting to read your posts about the anthology. I get excited for you each time I think about it! Enjoy this feeling, I have a feeling that you will be enjoying it many more times – and I expect an autograph for each and every publication!

  4. Tim Brown
    April 13, 2013

    Couldn’t have happened to a nicer person. Cheers to a great author in the making. Oh we can all say we new her when…… I’m so proud of you.

    • The Book Hipster
      April 13, 2013

      Thank you, Tim! 🙂 You can’t see it, but I’m blushing behind my black framed glasses. 😉

Leave a Reply

STREET TEAM

steven's lunatics

steven's lunatics

WINNER!

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

