The Book Hipster

The ramblings of things that make me…um, well…me.

A Cover Like No Other…

Hey there, Hipsters! I’m gonna keep this short as I’ve been sick the last 24-48 hours and didn’t have a chance to actually make a thought out post for this, but now that I’m showered and feeling slightly better, I thought I’d throw it out there quick because I didn’t want to miss out on the awesomeness that is…

A SLIVER OF HOPE by Karla Nellenbach comes out on April 1st! And I get to be one of the lucky few who get to show you the cover…so feast your eyes upon all that is amazing and glorious.

You know you wanna find out more about it...isn't it amazing?!?!?

You know you wanna find out more about it…isn’t it perfect?!?!?

This cover tells so much and yet tells you nothing at all, doesn’t it? Well, I’m gonna tell you what…I read it…and it is GOOD!!! I had just finished reading Karla’s other book (ALWAYS AND FOREVER – expect a review soon!), and was asked if I’d be interested in reading this one because I loved the other one so much…uh…yeah!!!

Want to know what it is about? Sure you do! Here is the back cover blurb:

My twin sister was the only person in the world I thought I’d known inside and out. Apparently, I was wrong.

Twin sisters share a unique bond, one that can’t be broken by miles, time, or even death. Hannah and Hope Morton are no exception. When Hope takes her own life, Hannah loses a sister and a best friend, a catastrophe she isn’t sure she’ll survive herself.
With her family in ruins, Hannah is slowly disappearing, drowning in a sea of misery. Even her wild, energetic best friend can’t pull her out of her grief. Desperate to help Hannah, her brother comes home from college, bringing his best friend Julian along, the first boy to break Hannah’s heart. None of their efforts are enough to pull Hannah off her self destructive path, though. Julian is the only one who can get through to her, working his way into her frozen soul with cocky remarks and genuine love that warms her from the inside out.
As Hannah works to find answers, she continues to uncover new secrets and people that reveal a side of Hope she had never shared with her twin. Alone now, Hannah must make a decision of her own: move on and start a new life with the people she has left, or let the weight of her grief drag her down with her sister.

What drew me to read Karla’s first book? Well, I met her through some of my other friends and found out she is originally from my hometown area…woohoo!!! And she is a pretty awesome chic to talk to! Oh, and she likes SUPERNATURAL, too. 😉

Karla’s BIO:

Karla J. Nellenbach divides her time between dayjobbing, writing, and indulging in her Winchester obsession.  The rest of her day is spent playing butler to a cranky old man masquerading as a housecat and two rambunctious puppies that closely resemble small horses.  Born and raised in the wilds of Michigan, she knows two immutable facts: (1) it is entirely possible to live in a thumb, and (2) you definitely can go home again…you just might not survive the winter.  Having resided in the sunscape of Florida for the last decade, she’s still on a quest to see a real live alligator outside of the “petting” zoo.Karla is currently at work on her next novel.

I know I can’t wait for her next novel…

Hipsters, I’m out for now. I’m not posting a book review this week cause of the plague I’m experiencing, so watch out next week…if I’m feeling up to it…maybe I’ll post two! *gasp*

Until then…peace, love and pie.

Mmmmm...Dean Winchester...er...pie...

Mmmmm…Dean Winchester…er…pie…

6 comments on “A Cover Like No Other…

  1. Karla Nellenbach
    March 20, 2013

    Blog posts that end with Dean are AWESOME. I will bring you pie, Dean. don’t worry 😉

  2. The Book Hipster
    March 20, 2013

    I figured you’d approve of Dean at the end. 🙂

  3. Awesome.

  4. Covers are quite an art form that I hope to explore in the near future. Love the fact we can’t see her face.

  5. Valerie Haight
    April 4, 2013

    Karla!!! CONGRATS! The completion of a novel is awesome but the cover reveal is like Dean FEEDING you pie. lol.

    Love the cover and I agree with Butters. No need to see her face, the stance, the grit, the despair tells the tale. I like it. Good luck with sales and can’t wait for more! 😀

Leave a Reply

STREET TEAM

steven's lunatics

steven's lunatics

WINNER!

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

