The Book Hipster

The ramblings of things that make me…um, well…me.

5 – 7 – 5…

Hey there, Hipsters!

The tree is up and the Christmas cards have been sent.

Here is what The Book Hipster Family's card looked like this year...

Here is what The Book Hipster Family’s card looked like this year…

We’ve even watched most of the old school Rankin/Bass movies.

Guess who my favorite would be?

Guess who my favorite would be?

Mr Book Hipster and I have been slowly knocking things off the Kidlet’s wish list and there is a nice big box under the tree for him too. 🙂

I don’t know about you, but I love seeing all the lights and decorations everywhere. I can’t stop staring at my tree. I just love how it sparkles!

Pretty!

Pretty!

And I absolutely love Christmas music. Right now I’m addicted to the new Michael Bublé Christmas CD. I’ve been listening to it every day on my way to and from work.

Love a man who can sing!

Love a man who can sing!

Along with music, one of the best things to do this time of year is read TWAS THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS and HOW THE GRINCH STOLE CHRISTMAS.

While I had a few moments of quiet time today at work, I decided that I wanted to write a Christmas poem. Ideas were not coming to mind in the form of a big poem, so I changed it up to a haiku and this is what I came up with:

White lights on the tree
Your beauty brightens the night
Silent. Just waiting.

Whatcha think? I thought it described one of my favorite things about this time of year. 🙂

Now, why am I telling you this? Well, to be honest, I do have ulterior motives. I had a crazy idea in my mind after I wrote my haiku…I wanted to see if YOU could write one too, about the holidays. A Haiku Holiday!

Screen Shot 2012-09-24 at 5.54.10 PM

I’m making this into my first official giveaway!

Screen Shot 2012-12-20 at 9.56.20 AM

As a way to make it fun, I am offering up something in exchange…something crafty!

Write your own “Holiday Haiku” in the comments section of this blog post by the end of the day on December 25th to enter.

You know how to write a Haiku, right? If not, click HERE to find out. I’ll pick my favorite one on the 26th and that person will win a handmade crochet item from me. Item to be determined once the winner is chosen…but I’m thinking a scarf or something equally easy to make…we’ll see…I can be flexible. 😉

Sounds easy enough, right?

I wanna know what makes you feel holiday-ish…in haiku form…

Ready? Set? Haiku!

I love Google! I find some cute stuff by just searching...look at this!!!

I love Google! I find some cute stuff by just searching…look at this!!!

 

Quick editing note: In order to win, you must be in the United States or Canada.

3 comments on “5 – 7 – 5…

  1. Indie Reviewers
    December 20, 2012

    oh man I’m so awful at poetry, but omg I love winning things so…

    coco, cookies, lights
    the sun shining hot and full
    a desert Christmas

    again with the haiku suck… lol. But I tried :p *crawls back into writing hole*

  2. Chris Cantley
    December 20, 2012

    Family dinner,
    Presents underneath the tree,
    Christmastime is here.

    Happy Holidays Hipster!

  3. mingomama
    December 24, 2012

    Mingos lit up bright.
    Tackiness at its greatest
    Christmas my excuse.

    Yeppers. There, Merry Christmas, I gave you a Haiku.

    Love to you, Mr. Hipster and the Kidlet!!

Leave a Reply

STREET TEAM

steven's lunatics

steven's lunatics

WINNER!

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

