The Book Hipster

The ramblings of things that make me…um, well…me.

Come What May…

I know…I know…Really??? A movie song??? What is that about??? Well…that song is very, very important to me. Wanna know why? Sure you do! Otherwise, you wouldn’t be here, right? Well…

It was a hot August of 1998, and I was 18 years old and getting myself mentally prepared to be a Freshman at Eastern Michigan University.

The Book Hipster…blonde!!! I was 17 here, I know, but it was my Senior picture. So serious!

Ok, this was actually Senior Year…I was 18…and it must have been after a Marching Band thing because I’m wearing my Drum Major Top/Bottoms.

Before school started though, there was a week of Marching Band Camp (yes, your fearless blogger was a Marching Band Geek…what of it?). Band Camp…yikes…I was so scared and nervous! Fast forward through the week…I meet lots of awesome people (ok, and some not so awesome people…it happens!) and make some good friends and feel confident about the whole “Freshman in college” thing now. At school orientation, I meet a few girls on my dorm floor and we hit it off. One is my roommate, Dawn, and the other is a girl across the way, Missy. Missy seemed to make it her life’s goal to get me a boyfriend (see, as of this point, I hadn’t dated anyone *sigh* I know…sad) and was itching to start the search. πŸ˜‰

Zoom in on Matt. (I really hope he doesn’t kill me for blogging about him…ha ha ha!!!)

Awww…18 year old Matt!

Freshman as well, Music person, like myself. Marching Band Geek, like myself.

Marching Band Geeks, unite! Just kids…look at us!!! 19 years old!!!

He played trombone (where I played Tenor Saxophone). We even had music classes together. Theory, Aural Skills, Music History…probably more, but I can’t remember right now, those were at least the big three classes. Matt, shall we say, was kind of…um…annoying. Or at least he acted like it in class. My guess is it was the people he was hanging out with. More on Matt later…

As I was saying, Missy was on a mission…Stephanie needs a boyfriend…ha! *shakes head* And one day we decide to have a “movie night” in her room. Nothing fancy, just her, me, some other gals and we’ll just happen to go down to the 3rd floor (the GUYS floor!) and invite any guy we see or that has a marker board on their door up to watch movies with us. Well, I happened to have a fellow saxophone player friend that lived on the 3rd floor, Derrick, and I just happened to know what room was his, so we left a note on his door inviting him up (he had a girlfriend, so no…his was strictly a “come watch movies” invite!)…What could POSSIBLY go wrong in this scenario, right??? Is not having anyone show up to watch movies bad? Ha ha ha!!!

Well, that isn’t quite 100% true…I was there, and Missy and I think my roommate Dawn. And then, Derrick shows up…with Matt. See, Matt’s room was right next to Derrick’s room. I don’t know what kind of witchery Derrick used, but he got Matt to come up and watch movies with us. I’ll be honest, I was not excited at the thought of watching any movies with this Matt guy…at all…but…I’m kind of glad he did now. πŸ™‚ While watching movies, he would make jokes here and there…nothing annoying…actually kind of funny…I know, right? We were actually getting along! Moving on…

Movie night is behind us. One day, I have to go to the 3rd floor to ask Derrick about something for sectionals, but he wasn’t “home”, however, Matt’s door was wide open, so I stick my head in and say hi. We ended up hanging out and talking for a couple hours, if I remember correctly. We had a LOT in common…other than just the music stuff! I can’t remember if it was then that he asked me on a date or if it was later (is that bad?), but he said his trombone professor was giving a recital and he HAD to go, and wanted to know if I wanted to go with him to the recital. I said yes. My first official date…and it will be at a trombone recital…*shakes head* I really was a dork! Ok…still am…I admit it! πŸ˜‰

Our first official date was September 21, 1998…almost 14 years ago. I suddenly feel old.

Obviously, his mom thought were were destined to be together because she had these taken of us when we had together less than 6 months! Smart woman!

August 2000 – Matt and I have decided to move in together! With roommates of course. Cue in Matt’s college roommate, Bruce! We did have another roommate that was going to move in with us *cough* Dave *cough* but he backed out for some un-rememberable reason. No hard feelings. And at some point in the next year we had Everett move in with us for a time while he was student teaching. *waves to Everett*

June 9, 2001 – It is a beautiful day outside and we’ve decided to go see “Shrek” at the theater. We’ve always loved to go see movies when we have the extra money and something good is playing (we still are this way too…we love movies!). We go hang out and walk around the mall. Just a nice relaxing day…just the two of us. All day Matt keeps saying it is just the “perfect day”. Fast forward to later that night. Nothing on TV, so we pop in another movie…ha! This time “Cast Away“…not bad. I’m vaguely aware of the fact that Matt has changed into a button-down shirt/khakis and put cologne on by the end of the movie. I did mention this was at night, right? Hmmm…weird. And yes, I knew he already had THE RING in his possession…ha!!! See, my good friend, Jennifer, was going to be getting married mid-June and I was her maid of honor. Matt wanted to wait until after her wedding to propose to me as to not detract from the beautiful bride (and I knew this…don’t ask). The pull of the perfect day was just too much, apparently. I probably made some smart alec remark about him being dressed up too. I’m so bad! And poor guy was nervous. There was no grand display or anything, he just flat out asked me…to MARRY HIM! And I said YES!!!

This is a horribly blurry picture (and we look tired!), but this was at said friend’s wedding a week after we were engaged…21 years old!

All of 2002 – Wedding planning…wedding planning and more wedding planning! We decided to get married on our date-o-versary (September 21st), but unfortunately, the church and hall we were booking were not available that day, so we opted to bump up a week early to the 14th.

Dresses, tuxes, flowers, cake…all the fun stuff was getting checked off the list one by one…no music. Two musical people…and no music…ha!!! We didn’t have a “song” that was ours. Nothing that we’d considered ours from the moment we met. We weren’t mushy like that, really. Ok, maybe a little mushy, but not too mushy. Shhhh… πŸ˜‰ This first dance thing at a reception was weighing heavy on my mind. It had to be the PERFECT SONG! And then one day…it happened.

This little known indie movie called “Moulin Rouge” (indie movie…ha ha ha!!!) had been out in theaters. I was not a fan of Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo and Juliet from a few years before, so I was avoiding Moulin Rouge like the plague. And this Ewan McGregor guy…who the heck is that??? *shakes head at my ignorance* Well, Moulin Rouge had come out on DVD and we had heard so many good things about it, we decided to rent it and watch. I’m pretty sure Matt was still working at Blockbuster, so it was probably a free rental…ha! Well, let me tell you…I fell in love with that movie (and Ewan McGregor!) instantly…and we immediately decided that the song “Come What May” (reference video from beginning of this post) from the movie was THE song! And quite honestly, I’m not surprised our first dance song was from a movie. Hello???

The first dance…could we BE smiling any more???

Actually the song the bridal party danced to at the reception was also one I heard in a movie (Trainspotting , also featuring Ewan McGregor…odd), called “Perfect Day” by Lou Reed.

Wait…prom??? No…no…can’t be!

September 14, 2002 – And then they were man and wife! *throws confetti into the air* *does a happy dance* *cue music* *cue tears*

Enjoy a couple wedding pictures:

Me, attempting to not trip up the stairs while not stepping on my dress. A feat that I did unsuccessfully (the stepping on the dress, not the tripping).

Awwww…we’re holding hands!!!

Ewwwww…kissing!

Are they done taking pictures of us yet??? No!!! Ok…on the count of 3 we’ll run…1…2…

The Money Shot…er…The Happy Couple after getting married…it is official, yo!

What a bunch of kids! – From Left to Right: Lacie, Sarah, Jennifer, Stephanie, Matt, Bruce, Everett (immortalized forever rolling his eyes in our photo…ha!) and Fred

September 14, 2012 – Hey, wait…that’s today!!! That’s right, today is our anniversary…10 years of weddedness! A big milestone! It is so hard to believe we’ve actually been married 10 years already. Craziness! Since September 1998 (14 years since we met!), we’ve been through a lot…ups and downs…additions and losses…

BIG ADDITION – The Kidlet…October 2005 (isn’t she so adorable???)

…and we’ve managed to not change who we once were. We still love to watch movies together and be silly. And send stupid text messages to each other. And call each other dorkburgers w/cheese. Yet, we’ve grown into real adults. Adults!!! No longer the 18 year olds we once were back at good old EMU. πŸ˜‰

What’s on tap today for the big anniversary? Eh…we’re pretty laid back people. The trip to Disney in August was part of our anniversary fun. We’re going out to dinner tonight…looking forward to it! That’s about it. Oh, and I am probably going to get to pick out something shiny soon too. πŸ˜‰

And, if I don’t say it enough (cause I’m sure I complain about him enough as I’m sure he does me too), I do love my husband very much…come what may…

Mr and Mrs Book Hipster (Matt and Stephanie) at the Magic Kingdom.

18 comments on “Come What May…

  1. Sherry Wachob Allen
    September 14, 2012

    I always said he was a smart kid (man now I guess!) I’ so happy you’re in our lives!

    • The Book Hipster
      September 14, 2012

      Awwww…thanks! He is pretty smart! πŸ˜‰ And I’m happy to have been given a wonderful Mother-In-Law. Cause lord knows I’ve heard stories about some stinkers! Ha ha ha!!!

  2. Angie Kalcec (aka the eye Roller's wife)
    September 14, 2012

    Great pictures and story!

    • The Book Hipster
      September 14, 2012

      Ha ha ha…poor Ev…forever will he live on in our picture as the eye roller! Thank you, Angie!

  3. Christina Esdon
    September 14, 2012

    Awww. So sweet! A real life love story, just like in the movies, but only better! Thank you for sharing.

    • The Book Hipster
      September 14, 2012

      I told you you’d love the post! You love a good love story as much as I do! πŸ˜‰

  4. Michelle R.
    September 14, 2012

    Great story!!! Happy Anniversary! Glad to hear Matt was still the annoying dork in College and it wasn’t just a High School thing that he did to try to drive me NUTS! Cause lord know’s he did that! He has been a great friend and I am so thankful he is as happy as can be!!! Congrats you two!!!

    • The Book Hipster
      September 14, 2012

      Wait…he was like this in high school too??? I thought it was just an “I’m in college” thing…ha ha ha!!!

  5. MR Graham
    September 14, 2012

    You guys are the most adorable thing ever. xD

  6. Elise Stephens (@elisestephens)
    September 14, 2012

    And when I was singing that Moulin Rouge song, I had no idea I’d picked the right one. This is really sweet, Stephanie! I love the pic from when you’re both eighteen!

    • The Book Hipster
      September 14, 2012

      I know! You started singing that one and I was trying to not say anything…ha!!! πŸ™‚

  7. lisashambrook
    September 13, 2013

    This is so beautiful! And I love that song!

    • The Book Hipster
      September 13, 2013

      Thanks! And I admit I still tear up when I hear it…even 11 years later.

  8. Jenise Hintz
    September 13, 2013

    Wow, what an interesting blog! Thank you for sharing your life with us. =)

    • The Book Hipster
      September 13, 2013

      Thank you for caring enough to be a part of my life. πŸ™‚

  9. Quackzalcoatl
    September 13, 2013

    If your goal was to make me cry, congratulations. πŸ™‚ I love happy endings!!! Thank you for adding some sunshine and sap to my day!!! Wonderful wonderful stuff!!!

    • The Book Hipster
      September 13, 2013

      *hands you a tissue* Sorry about that. I’m a sap and love happy endings, too. Thank you for visiting my blog. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

STREET TEAM

steven's lunatics

steven's lunatics

WINNER!

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

