The Book Hipster

The ramblings of things that make me…um, well…me.

Guess I should formally introduce myself, huh?

I was perusing another blog yesterday when it hit me…I’ve not actually introduced myself on this blog…wonder if I should do that? I wasn’t sure who was actually reading my blog other than some friends, so it had never occurred to me to do it. So, I did what I always do when I want to do something, but can’t decide if it is the right thing to do or not…I tweet it!!!

See…I’m an indecisive person, so I tend to rely on others to help me make my own decisions…and as always…no one responds! Not true, I did have ONE person respond…this time!

And one person responded (thanks @Mike Whitacre !!!). He is a writer and has an “Unnecessary Autobiography” which I thought was quite fun. However, I actually want you all to know more about me…the real me! The girl behind the black framed glasses (and yes, I do have black framed glasses, just not TRUE “hipster” ones). So…what I’m going to do is give you a rundown of myself (I tend to get wordy…sorry about that!) and then, if you have any follow up questions, put them in the comments and I’ll answer them (unless you ask my bra size or something equally invading, then I may or may not answer it)! Ok? Sound good? Alrighty! Here we go…

My name is Stephanie and as of this post I’m 32 years old (born 1980, so depending on when you read this…maybe years down the line…I might be older…gah…older!!! No!!!!!). I was born and raised in a small farming area in Michigan. I have one older brother (who probably will never read this blog *sigh*). My youth was pretty normal, I think. I was involved in Band (Marching and Concert) and Choir in school, took piano lessons…even wanted to go to college for music. Graduated from Eastern Michigan University with a Bachelor of Science in Communications, Minor in Music (yeah, didn’t end up Majoring in Music…long story!).

Now…I’m marriedย  ( @stmfuller ) and a Mom to a little girl (who starts 1st grade tomorrow!!!), living in Illinois.

There we are…the happy Book Hipster Family…at Disney World!

I work part time as an Assistant Shopkeeper at a women’s clothing store (which I will not name because they are very weird about us talking about them on social media, etc…I’m just not even going to bother with it. If you must know, send me a private message and I’ll tell you there…maybe).

We have a 9 year old Tonkinese cat, Isis the WonderKitty (or Isis for short), who is definitely my baby…she loves to snuggle! Whenever I’m sitting, she is generally in my lap. She is a spoiled kitty, indeed!

Up close and personal…Isis!

Oh, and my Mom lives with us too. I would post a picture of her, but she is very anti-picture posting. And pretty much anti-anything technology. She does have an email address and a cell phone which she uses to text, but that is about it. So, don’t tell her I mentioned her or you’ll have to deal with the sigh and eye roll of mom…ha ha ha!!!

Those are the basics…here is some extras about me…

I LOVE to read…love!!! Go figure! With a blog titled “The Book Hipster” you’d hope I liked to read, right? Well, I was a reader from a pretty early age. My mom swears that in Kindergarten, the teacher had me set up and reading to the class by mid-year. One of the first books I remember that touched me so much and made me want to read it over and over again was BRIDGE TO TERABITHIA by Katherine Patterson. That was in 4th grade…I mean, I loved books before that, but this was the first one that hooked me…the first one that made me feel real feelings about it…tears…and all! We even had to write to someone (can’t remember if it had to be an author, or if it could be anyone “famous”) and I wrote to Katherine Patterson! I don’t even remember if I got a response back or not. I still love that story and can’t wait until my daughter reads it (I own a copy!). She has watched the movie several times, but we are still working on the reading thing. She loves her books and loves when someone else reads to her, but reading by herself is a struggle.

I also love, love, love movies and tv shows…not all, but when I find some that I really do like…I’m hooked!

My favorite TV show ever is FRIENDS. Chandler Bing is my Patronus (see what I did there??? TV AND Reading!!!) and on any message boards, pinterest, facebook, etc you can probably find me using the moniker “MissChanandelorBong”. I wanted to use it for Twitter, but it had too many characters. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I think I came up with a great 2nd (@ ImaFuller )!

Could I BE any more awesome???

The last year or so, I’ve also come to be a big fan of DOCTOR WHO…and SHERLOCK !!!

This man…Benedict Cumberbatch…is my Fake BBC Boyfriend. You’ll hear me speak of him again, I’m sure…more than once. *sigh*

Favorite movie??? Well…um…I really couldn’t tell you because I love so many of them! And I would feel bad for picking one and then not picking another one when it pops into my mind later.

That’s about it for me, I think. Did I miss anything important? If you think I did…post it in a comment and I’ll try to answer what I can. Again…within reason. *snicker*

Oh…and also…I’m a January baby, so that means you have less than 5 months to buy me a present. Better make it good!ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰

5 comments on “Guess I should formally introduce myself, huh?

  1. Jennifer
    August 21, 2012

    Awesome read!!

  2. faithmckay
    August 29, 2012

    My husband was born in 1980 and grew up in rural Michigan, but the lower west side–South Haven. My little sister was so obsessed with Friends I’ve seen every episodes dozens of times at least. Chandler was always my favorite, too ๐Ÿ˜€

    • The Book Hipster
      August 29, 2012

      I know where South Haven is. Haven’t been there forever though.Tell your husband hello from a fellow Michigander! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ToddieDowns (@ToddieDowns)
    January 27, 2013

    Nice to meet you, Stephanie! It sounds like we have many of the same likes – I JUST started watching Dr. Who (Matt Smith-era) and am now totally sucked in. And Benedict Cumberbatch is incredible as Sherlock. I’m looking forward to reading more of you!

    • The Book Hipster
      January 28, 2013

      Welcome to the blog, Toddie! If you love the Matt Smith Doctor, go back to Christopher Eccleston and start there. You are missing out on some good stuff. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I got sucked in right away too. Easily done. Last night on BBC America they played an episode (The Aztecs) from the First Doctor…it was pretty cool to watch! I really would love to go back and start watching from the beginning.

      I saw you followed @TheBookHipster twitter too, I don’t post there much. Mostly if I have something to promote, so go follow my personal account too, if you like @ImaFuller. I talk a lot more (sometimes too much) over there. And I have the FB page as well. http://www.facebook.com/TheBookHipster

      Look forward to talking more Doctor Who (and maybe some Benedict…he he he…) with you!

Leave a Reply

STREET TEAM

steven's lunatics

steven's lunatics

WINNER!

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

Mid-Week Blues-Buster Challenge Winner

